Some Interesting Places in Jakarta

I have been living in Jakarta for two years. In the past two years, shopping malls have been my main place to hang out with some friends. Honestly I hate shopping malls. What do you love about malls? I wonder why do people in Jakarta (oh wait, maybe not all people in Jakarta, but it must be the mall or apartment developers) proudly declare that Jakarta is a city that has the most malls in the world. Do they proud of that? Seriously, buddy? Oh well, for me, as Indonesian who live in Jakarta, I’m proudly say that I am deeply ashamed knowing that Jakarta has the most malls in the world. This is pity and honestly I’m not proud of it. I would be proud if Jakarta had the biggest or the most parks in the world.  Anyway, I’m not going to discuss about malls in Jakarta. What I’m going to say is that I’ve found some interesting places in Jakarta way better than malls.

Last Saturday, my besty and I were decided to find somewhere to go. Seeing that I hate malls, therefore we had to find a place where we could relax and read our favorite books. I need an open space. The first thing came up in my mind was Taman Situ Lembang in Menteng. I knew about this park from a taxi driver that was once promote me about a beautiful park with artificial lake in the center of Menteng housing complex. Taman Situ Lembang is located in Jalan Lembang, Menteng. You can go this park by using taxi. This park was beautiful. Some say, Taman Situ Lembang would be more beautiful at twilight when the garden lamps began to light. Well, I would someday try to go this park at twilight then.

Taman Situ Lembang. Source: http://pertamananpemakaman.jakarta.go.id
Taman Situ Lembang. Source: http://pertamananpemakaman.jakarta.go.id
Taman Situ Lembang. Source: http://pertamananpemakaman.jakarta.go.id
Taman Situ Lembang.
Source: http://pertamananpemakaman.jakarta.go.id

Within a short walk to Jalan Diponegoro, you will find another beautiful park, namely Taman Suropati. This park is located on the confluence of three major roads namely Jl. Diponegoro, Jl. Teuku Umar and Jl. Imam Bonjol. I like Taman Suropati better, because when I was there, there were some cute flabby cats and doves that I could play with, moreover since food vendors were not allowed to enter the park, therefore this park was much cleaner than Taman Situ Lembang. Taman Suropati was quite shady due to the high trees; there were also some park benches for you to relax to read a book or find inspirations to paint. I love this park.

Taman Suropati Source: http://pertamananpemakaman.jakarta.go.id
Taman Suropati
Source: http://pertamananpemakaman.jakarta.go.id
Taman Suropati Source: my personal documentation
Taman Suropati
Source: my personal documentation

After satisfied with a green atmosphere, we decided to go to somewhere with a lot of books. As I mentioned above, since I had a strange relationship with shopping malls, I didn’t want to go to bookstores in malls. After browsing, we found a public library! Yay! Actually there are some public libraries in Jakarta. One of the public library we visited yesterday was the library in Kuningan area, in Gedung Nyi Ageng Serang. Lucky me, this library is located near to the place where I live. You can visit this library everyday from 8 am – 8 pm. You don’t need to be a member to read books at this place. However, to borrow books, membership is required. I will regularly visit this library on weekend. This will be my sanctuary on weekend. End of words, there are still a lot of interesting places in Jakarta besides shopping malls. I would absolutely go to those interesting places over weekend. There are still museums, Bung Karno sport complex and art galleries to visit. I want to get as much as positive and fresh ideas by visiting those places.

Leave a Reply

