Memories of Kampus Bonaventura

During holidays last week, I went to my ex-college the Faculty of Industrial Technology in Bonaventura Building, UAJY. I went there to have my degree certificate copies verified by the Administration Office. I also had to meet my lecturer to request a recommendation letter for pursuing postgraduate education. My lecturers and some of administration office staffs still remembered me. I had such a wonderful feeling to speak with them again. A glimpse of memory went through my head when I was walking down the aisle of the FTI. Ahh, I want to be back in memories of 7 years ago, when I was a new student and studying Information Technology engineering.

Faculty of Industrial Technology
Faculty of Industrial Technology

Picture above: do you see that white building? There was where I studied. I never thought I would miss this place. I had wonderful memories when I was studying at this campus:

Auditorium Hall

I had some wonderful moments inside the Auditorium Hall.

  1. When I was a new student I had orientation week inside the Hall. The orientation committee divided us in groups, I was in group 3 if I was not mistaken (I forget). We had to finish some daily tasks requested by the orientation committee. It was difficult for me at that time, because we had to wake up very early in the morning (we almost could not sleep), I could not go home due to a bunch of tasks we had to finish.
  2. In my second year in college, I was one of the Secretariat for student’s orientation. When I saw a sleepy new student during briefing from our lecturers, I said to myself, “Kid, I’ve been in your position before”. Actually it was not right to overburden the students with a lot of tasks.
  3. In my third year in college, I was the president of student council and we were inducted in this Hall.
  4. In my fourth year, I was there for the last time for graduation.
Parking Area
Parking Area

Picture above is the parking area. I had a shameful memory. When I was in college I could not ride a motorbike very well. I practiced it few times at home but, I just couldn’t ride it well. There would always be accidents whenever I rode my motorbike. One of the accidents was in this parking area. I crashed some motorbikes and they fell like domino! My Lord! Fortunately, there were some friends helped me to get those bikes into their position. Actually, until now, I’m afraid of riding a motorbike.

Data Structure Laboratory
Data Structure Laboratory

The door on the left side is Data Structure Laboratory. We studied computer programming in there. A nightmare actually. The only computer programming that I understood the most and that I loved the most is Database! I loved it. I was the assistant lecturer of Database programming as well. It was my first job.

Canteen
Canteen

Above is our canteen. Some friends met, chatted and sometimes we cheated on homework as well in here. When I passed this area, I suddenly remember everything, every face I saw, every conversation we made. Ah, memories. I really missed to eat in there again. Unfortunately when I visited college,  our canteen was close.

Student Activity Center
Student Activity Center

This is the student activity center. I took this picture from the left side, near Atmajaya Photography Club. People in this Club is “crazy”. They were fun! Hm, it seemed like they had no worries in life. Cool! 😀

Our university offered a lot of activities for students: there was Diving Club, Religion and Spirituality Club, Photography Club, Journalism Club, and many more.

Student Activity Center (2)
Student Activity Center (2)

Picture above is the Journalism Club area. People called this club: PASTI. Actually I don’t know what does PASTI stand for. This place was the place where I met my ex-boyfriend. It was a long time ago. Hm, let me remember, it was 6 years ago.

The IT Student Council
The IT Student Council

Ahh and the picture above is my favorite place. This is the IT Student Council or it’s known as HIMAFORKA that stands for Himpunan Mahasiswa Teknik Informatika. It has beautiful logo, blue, yellow and white. HIMAFORKA was my first organization that I participated. Here, I met many friends, I learned to speak to people, learned to socialize, learned to conduct events and many more.

Well, I miss my college. I have such a wonderful memory in there. I met wonderful friends, I met amazing lecturers and they taught me a lot. It was not only for education purpose, but I also taught life.

Leave a Reply

