The girl who run away

Once upon a time there was a girl who decided to run away from home to have some adventure herself during Christmas holidays. Previously, she set up a vacation with her parents, but apparently her parents were too busy preparing New Year’s party. So, she went alone. Well, actually the girl was me.

20151231_065338.jpg

So, I decided to go to Borobudur temple myself. I went to a bus station near my house and looking around for the local bus that would take me to the temple. I was excited, it was my first time going alone by bus from home to somewhere.

20151231_060655

Borobudur is a Buddhist temple in  Java, consisting of six square platforms surmounted by three circular platforms, atop which are 72 small stupas surrounding a large central stupa. The temple was lost for centuries under layers of ash and jungle until discovered by the British lieutenant governor of Java, Sir Stamford Raffles, in 1814.

After a long and winding road, I arrived at the hotel I was staying at. The hotel located inside of Borobudur complex and the reason I stayed here was actually location wise. I just could stretch my legs to get to the temple.

I spent my time reading book at the library, went a bit to the temple, went for shopping at the local market, meditate, and watched Borobudur documentary for a couple times at the audio visual room. In the morning, I woke up early and went inside the temple. Below is Borobudur fog after the sunrise. It was beautiful.

20151231_060342.jpg

I sat in silence, it was peaceful up there. I saw the fog slowly dissolved as the sun went up. Yes, it was the last day of 2015. I started to remember every journey I’ve made, every face I’ve seen, every memory. I don’t want to attach myself in anything. I want to free myself from hatred and possession. Nothing lasts forever. Not even your troubles.

Leave a Reply

