The Philippines, baby!

It is a couple of time I went to the Philippines. I  would like to say that I love the Philippines no matter what!

Screen Shot 2016-02-11 at 8.07.55 PM
Beautiful Palawan

The country has more than 7,000 islands and divided into 3 islands group: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. For the couple of time I went to Luzon. On the first visit, it was totally for business purpose. I stayed at Pasig city for the painful 3 days because I was surrounded by malls and high buildings. Well, I have been living in Jakarta for 5 years, and it is indeed irritating to be surrounded by skysCRAPers! I didn’t manage to make friends or to see a little bit of the country. I remember I went to a huge mall where I was lost in there.

On my second visit, it was again for business purpose. We were doing a research/ study about the forests and it was fun. I got that local experience of jumping from one bus to another, to speak the real local languange – Illocano. Yes, it’s true dear, now I can understand when people talk in Illocano. In fact, I know a little bit of Tagalog which is fun! My accent is not smooth like a real Pinoy, but hey I’m trying to do so. Some people said I was a Pinoy just came back from school abroad and that’s why I had that different accent.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Water buffalo in Abra

I traveled from one Barangay (village) to another and visiting the forest, went to government office, talked to people, and so on. Important thing is I made some friends 🙂 Yeyy finally I have some Pinoy friends. I’m writing this because I indeed missed the Philippines a lot!

PB042653.JPG
Paddy fields are everywhere

On my journey back to Jakarta, I had some local food with me: Bangus (the marinated soft bone milkfish), Vigan Longganisa, garlic rice, and another munchies from pork! I still can hear when we were at Vigan City, there was dancing fountain singing “Ocho Ocho”.

Jeez, I miss the Philippines. I promised my friend to come back again and this time will be for vacation only. We planned to go to Baguiyo, the upland area of Luzon. I might want to peek a bit on El Nido or Boracay. Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

