The Venn-Diagram of Love

I was at home for several days for the long holidays. We are celebrating Eid Al-Fitr. Well, basically not me who celebrate it, but most people in Indonesia are. When I was at home, butterflies and dragonflies might have spread the words that I was in town.

The little butterflies spread the words until I got a phone call and text message saying “Hey, are you in town? Up for coffee and ice cream?“. How can I refuse the offer for ice cream? It is indeed my weakness!  It was someone from the past calling. We talked and he said that he still loved me.

Dear, you should know that I love you. I love talking to you and I wouldn’t mind to share a cup of ice cream with you. However you should know, I feel so much better when we are NOT together. Our relationship was not healthy. I felt more depressed when I was with you than I am now.” – I told him

Remember when we were in junior school and we studied Venn Diagram and Set-Operation? There are two things: Union and Intersection.

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 4.51.22 PM.png

You know, our past relationship was like that Intersection. We were alright inside of the red area, but you have life that I couldn’t accept and the other way around. I couldn’t open with you and you couldn’t do the same. We talked but we didn’t really communicating. It seemed like you had different life and I was not a part of it. What I want is the union, the acceptance of myself, of you, someone who is open to me, not afraid of telling anything and I can do the same. I love you, but we cannot be together. I moved on and I hope you can do the same.

Leave a Reply

