My Responsibility of Taming a Cat

You become responsible forever for what you have tamed ~ Antoine de Saint-Exupery

The little prince and the fox

Little prince: “what does tame mean?”

Fox: “To me, you are still nothing more than a little boy who is just like a hundred thousand other little boys. And I have no need of you. And you, on your part, have no need of me. To you, I am nothing more than a fox like a hundred thousand other foxes. But if you tame me, then we shall need each other. To me, you will be unique in all the world. To you, I shall be unique in all the world  [..] But you must not forget it. You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed..

I loved the quote that stated You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. I have a cat named Anitachie. It’s a stray cat in my boarding house. I tamed her for almost a year. First of all I gave her cat’s biscuit and I hid somewhere to watch over it. I moved a little closer everyday until I could reach and touched it.

Christina Dian HK (dianmiaw) on Twitter - Mozilla Firefox (Private Browsing)She gave birth every 3 months and every kitten she bore died. I was sad when she was crying over the dead kittens. This cat is not just a cat, she is my friend. Therefore, since I have too much love for her, I decided to spay Anita. It happened last Sunday, I brought her to meet vet to spay her. It’s my responsibility of taming a cat and I have to take care of it.

Christina Dian HK (dianmiaw) on Twitter - Mozilla Firefox (Private Browsing)_2

It’s her after surgery. Look at that shaved body. I did it myself. I was a volunteer for Steril Yuk and had the opportunity to watch over it from pre-surgery until post-surgery. There are about more than 5 cats I’ve tamed. I think I need to bring them to be spayed one by one.

Anita - dian.soehardi@gmail.com - Gmail - Mozilla Firefox

and it is her after 24 hours. On the first day she jumped from my bed, I was afraid if the stitches open. But it was not.  I hope she will recover soon therefore we could play together again.

Leave a comment